Goodbye DroboFS

Update on 29/9/11: since writing the original post back in July 2010, I’ve been using the Drobo as a staging post for cold storage. However, I’ve finally (as of September 2011) decided enough is enough and this time, I will be retiring it for good.

I finally got the last data off the DroboFS this evening and ran some tests on a newly formatted and reset Drobo. Performance was exactly the same as before: it choked transferring files from Drobo to the Mac.

I’ve spent more than enough time on this device. It’s going in the bin, a £430 mistake.

If I hadn’t got the mac I probably wouldn’t have reached this conclusion so part of me wonders about keeping it just to use with my Windows PC but.. nah.. get rid.

Leave a Reply

