Too many toys! Torchlight2 Beta – Adobe Creative Cloud – Diablo 3 next week

As if there wasn’t enough to do in my spare time, today brought a Torchlight 2 Beta code and the release of the Adobe Creative Cloud.

I’ve been playing Torchlight almost everyday for the past month trying to complete at least one playthrough before switching to Diablo 3. I’ve clocked up 58 hours so far and now doubt I’ll reach my goal before Diablo releases, especially given today’s new arrivals.

58 hours of Torchlight via Steam

With hindsight, my Torchlight goal was just too ambitious. After settling on Hard difficulty (taking several hours), the initial plan was to switch between one character of each class as they travelled through the main dungeon so that they could share loot. However, switching between character classes meant regularly re-familiarizing myself with each combat style (+key bindings) and also meant it would take 3 times as long to complete the game. So, after playing all three characters down to floor 8 (yet more hours) I pushed on with the Destroyer down to my current location: floor 33 in the Black Palace.

I’ve played the Destroyer for a good 30+ hours now and loved every minute – except for a few hours of despair around floor 30 when neglect of the defense attribute and under-developed armor skills left me extremely vulnerable against the higher level monsters.

Anyway, the long and short of it is that my gaming-and-otherwise-disposable hours were pretty much spoken for until today. Now I’m left with a very pleasant quandary: I want to safe guard enough enthusiasm and time to complete at least one play through of Torchlight whilst finding the time to help test Torchlight2 beta and familiarize myself with the Adobe Creative Cloud suite whilst still putting in lots of hours in my day job and being an attentive partner!

Adobe Creative Cloud – App Manager

Oh, and what about Diablo 3? 🙂

I will most likely play strictly time-boxed sessions of Torchlight 2 and Diablo 3 and keep Torchlight as my main game until I’ve completed the Destroyer play through though it looks like I may never get ’round to completing Torchlight with the Alchemist and Vanquisher now.

The Adobe Creative Cloud doesn’t really have to compete with gaming for my time. I’m bound to use it for various projects including processing the FRAPS gameplay videos of Torchlight, Torchlight 2 and Diablo…

Leave a Reply

