Unity Day 8 – A simple recap turns into a trip down memory lane

The objective today, apart from nursing a runny nose and groggy head, was to put together a simple interactive game to exercise what I learnt about Unity in chapter 5 of Unity 3.x Game Development Essentials over the last few days.

The application has to include some colliders, trigger zones and raycasting with audio, animations and models brought in from other packages.

First stop was Modo 601. I was very pleased to find out that Unity natively supports Modo .lxo files from Modo 501 onwards.

Image

It was less pleasing to find that animations don’t currently come through using the native support or with Collada (on which the native support is built).

You can get animations through from Modo if you use the FBX file format. The only gotcha is that Modo 601s new Actors and Actions are not supported yet – stick to animating on the main timeline and you’ll be fine for item-based animation.

Image

Either import method will create Camera and Light entities in Unity unless you delete them from the Modo scene before saving and the native method leaves you with a superfluous Render node. Apart from that, it works a treat.

I had to relearn the basic animation tools in Modo like how to break a curve in the Graph editor and I also spent time understanding the Actor/Action/Pose functionality before realising it was a dead-end. I was going to do some UV Mapping but in the end I decided that the UV learning curve would have to wait for another day.

Next I wanted some sound effects so I dug out my Reason ignition key, installed the 6.5 upgrade, activated it and… Oh My God! The program looked totally different to what I remembered!?!

Reason 6.5 interface showing a demo song.

Another 30 minutes or so scratching my head, watching tutorials.. I worked out how to use my keyboard as an input device (F4 to the rescue)…

…then I threw an analog sequencer into a new Reason “song” and explored a few sounds.

From Reason, I exported the bits of sound I’d selected as one song in WAV format. I then switched to Adobe Audition (part of my Adobe Creative Cloud subscription) to cut out the clips I wanted, applying a few effects on the way through.

In Audition I saved the files in OGG format into my Unity assets folder where they were duly recognised. I opted to leave them as 3D sounds even though this simple game has a fixed camera posiiton – just to try that option.

I hooked all this up in Unity and made a little web app.

I’ve only added Colliders so far. Raycast hit detection and Triggers to come as well as models straight from 3DS Max – possibly even UV textured… we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

