Unity Day 9 – 3DS Max model to Unity import and UV Unwrapping

Time was a little short today so I didn’t set out with big expectations of what I’d cover, just a rough idea of where I’d start and the direction to take.

I started by creating a simple wedge-shaped object in 3DS Max then studied the UV Unwrap tools until I had enough knowledge to unwrap the mesh for painting.

Initially I’d planned to use Adobe Photoshop to create the texture but what better way to exercise more untouched features of 3DS Max than turn to the Viewport Canvas tools?

The workflow was pretty easy.

Once complete, I saved the file into my Unity project asset folder and Unity automatically imported it. I dragged the model into the scene… and it was pointing upwards and way too big!

I’d been very careful to set up the  model just right, or so I thought. Turns out I’d left the 3ds Max system unit defaults as inches and 3ds Max uses Z as up whilst Unity uses Y. Luckily Unity Answers had the solution for the orientation issue: http://answers.unity3d.com/questions/18629/3ds-max-editing.html .

In short, as per the feature image of this post, if you’ve modelled your object using 3DS Max default axes orientation, you’ll need to rotate the pivot to ensure it reaches Unity facing the right way.

For the units, I decided to change the system default to meters so that I could use 1-to-1 scale. When I reloaded the model in 3DS Max, I was prompted to convert file units to system units. Problem solved.

That’s as far as I got today.

Leave a Reply

