Caroline’s Vase

Continuing with the Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain book, I’ve just started Chapter 4 “Crossing over: experiencing the shift from left to right” in which the author helps the reader understand the shift required to move from L to R mode thinking.

The first exercise is to draw the classic vase/faces optical illusion and explore any difficulties experienced when drawing the mirrored half of the vase.

Here’s the drawing:

Classic vase/face drawing based on my partner’s silhouette

I found that if I thought about the face, I would inadvertently stop drawing in a mirrored fashion, messing up the inverted profile. I had to focus my mind on completing the vase profile (ignoring the face) to get my head back into the task.

The exercise is only intended to take a few minutes but I took extra time to find a suitable silhouette reference photo of my partner and also went on to fill in the silhouette, scan it then clean up the work in photoshop to create a perfectly symmetrical drawing to emphasize the optical illusion. The resulting photoshop work is the feature image of this post and you can click the thumbnail below to see larger version.

Leave a Reply

