Expressed preference

I read recently (perhaps on drawinblack.com) that it helps to draw subjects that you’re interested in. Since I find women more interesting than men, cars, buildings and landscapes, it seems like a good idea to draw women (portraits, poses, etc.) if I want to accelerate my artistic learning curve.

I really like the artwork found on hedkandi album covers, classy pin up art and the work of artists like Serge Birault, Yinxuan Li Dezarmenien, Otto Schmidt (NSFW) and although I’ve started a bit late in life (around mid-life crisis age, actually), I’d like to depict women with as much style, beauty, elegance and appeal as these artists. One day!

So to cut a long story short, the above sketches were tonight’s exercise. The three pictures are actually of the same person (Alyssa) and I’ll admit none of them look like her but in my defence, I drew in ink and only allowed myself one attempt to get each line right.

The questions now are:

  • Will the next lady I draw end up looking just like my attempt to draw Alyssa? (If so, how long with this continue)
  • How long will it be before I can carry the likeness of a model through all three pictures?
  • Will my partner ever understand or support this endeavour? (She’s not at all keen right now)
Leave a Reply

