Losing traction

There’s a growing disparity between thought and action at the moment. I’m having trouble distancing myself enough from work and other aspects of my life to give art a fair chance. Creative time feels like a luxury I can’t afford.

As with the last post, I’ve restricted myself to doodles over the last few days. Here’s another quick sketch I did when watching an episode of Fringe.

sketch based on Lincoln Lee – Fringe Season 4

I’m writing this post in the middle of a bank holiday weekend so I will try grant myself at least a few hours with the drawing board or at the very least, the drawing books.

Although I haven’t drawn much, I have been reading a lot of comics both on the web and via the Comixology iPad app.

My favourite digital comic is Chew by John Layman (writer) and Rob Guillory (art).

The following Not-Safe-for-Work (or anyone offended by sex & violence) webcomics are incredibly good:

You might notice a few Wulff-like characters in the feature image of this post. 🙂

Other comics I’ve perused (in no particular order) are:

  • Aphrodite XI by David Wohl, David Finch, Joe Weems
  • Platinum Grit by Trudy Cooper, Danny Murphy
  • House of Night by P. C. Cast, Kristin Cast, Kent Dalian, Joëlle Jones, Karl Kerschl
  • Bomb Queen by Jimmie Robinson (mature, not suitable for all)
  • Grimm Fairy Tales by Joe Brusha, Raven Gregory, Ralph Tedesco, Various artists

The main reason for picking these comics (apart from Chew where I got completely hooked on the story line and Wumo which is just damn funny) is that I’ve been seeking out artists that are good at drawing appealing beautiful characters – preferably with simple clean lines but not always. These comics are great inspiration and reference material for my artistic journey.

Leave a Reply

