Affirmations and impious caramel pralines

Feature image courtesy of Karin Taylor. Beautiful imagery. See more at http://www.redbubble.com/people/karin

I’ve started doing positive affirmations again. This entails:

  • Thinking of something you want to achieve.
  • Creating a positive statement of achieving the goal.
  • Typing that positive statement ten times to affirm your intent.
  • Save the text file.
  • Repeat every day until you either achieve the goal or decide to focus on something else.

You shouldn’t try to use this for goals  that are beyond your control or otherwise outside of your reach. Also, try to avoid setting time limited goals unless you’re going to make a concerted effort to make it happen.

So for instance, “I will be a millionaire by the time I’m 40” is only a good goal if you honestly believe you have realistic options to make that kind of money in that time-scale. Money isn’t going to fall out of the sky on your 40th birthday to make up any shortfall!

The technique is primarily aimed at subconsciously boosting your positive mental attitude and helping steer instinctive and spur-of-the-moment decisions towards your desired outcomes.

To my knowledge, I’ve achieved everything that I’ve set my sights on using this method but I still stopped doing it quite a few years back. A bit like the Paleo diet, I know it works but the effort sometimes escapes me! 😦

In other news, another colossus puzzle in the bag. 21 uses of crossword solver. I must be getting back into the habit as I found this crossword a lot more enjoyable.

colossus130701

 

Leave a Reply

